Go To Search
Gun Permits
Black hand gunGun Permit Applications
NOTICE:  Applications fees are non-refundable.  If your Purchase Permit Application is denied, you will not be refunded the application fees.  This is due to the fact that the same amount of effort and background work goes into every application, whether it's approved or denied.  Most people should have a good idea of whether you are eligible for a pistol purchase permit before they apply.

You must have been a resident of Nash County for the last 12 months. The cost is $5.00 per permit. Effective October 1, 2013 there is no limit on how many permits you may obtain. The online program also charges a one-time service charge per application, not per permit. 

In order to complete the online purchase program, you must have a valid email address and a credit or debit card. If you do not normally have access to a computer in order to complete your application, a computer has been set up in the lobby of the First Floor of the Sheriff's Office. Payment at the Sheriff’s Office can be made using a credit card, debit card, or cash.

Effective December 1, 2015, North Carolina General Statute 14-404 requires applicants to sign a release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity for pistol purchases permits.

You MUST come in to the Sheriff's Office within five (5) business days after you have completed the online portion of the application.  Your application process will not begin until this final step has been completed.

Once you are notified that your gun permit purchase application has been approved, you may come to the first floor of the Sheriff's Office to pick it up. Applicants must bring either a NC Driver's License or NC issued ID card, at the time of the permit pickup. No other forms of identification will be accepted. That Driver's License or ID card MUST have the same address on it that is listed on your application. 

If you are interested in applying for a Pistol Purchase Permit Online, start by clicking the “GET STARTED” link below.


Concealed Weapons Permit
New applications for Concealed Weapons Permits cost $90.00. The process for obtaining a Concealed Weapon Permit is somewhat lengthy and can take up to 45 days. The Sheriff's Office must wait for all forms to be returned to us from the Eastpointe, Coastal Plains Hospital, and the Nash County Clerk's Office before we can process your application completely.

New applications are by appointment only. You may apply for a new application for Concealed Weapon Permit on Wednesdays from 8a-12p and 1p-4p. On the THIRD Wednesday of the month only, the hours are extended until 7pm.  If you would like to make an appointment for a new Concealed Weapons Permit, please call us at 252-459-1530.   

Renewal Permits for Concealed Weapons Permits cost $75.00 if renewed before your expiration date. Renewals are $90.00 if after the expiration date up to 60 days after expiration.  After the 60 days of expiration, you will be required to retake the Handgun Safety Course and re-apply as a new applicant.  Renewals cannot be done more than 90 days prior to the date of expiration on your current permit. Reminder letters are sent out to let you know that you are due for a renewal. If you receive your mail at a Post Office Box, you will not receive a renewal reminder because the State of North Carolina sends out these letters based on your physical address listed on your permit. Renewal permits can be obtained anytime Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Below are the necessary forms needed for the Concealed Handgun Permit Application.  You may fill them out and print them off ahead of time and bring them with you to the Sheriff's Office to cut down on your wait time once you arrive.  If you are completing a NEW Concealed Handgun Permit Application, then you need Forms 1-2.  If you are completing a Concealed Handgun Renewal, then you need Forms 1-3.

NOTE:  Do not sign any of the forms until you reach the Sheriff's Office, where they must be signed in person.  If they are signed prior to coming to the Sheriff's Office, they will not be accepted and you will have to refill out the forms.

1.  Concealed Handgun Permit Application

2.  Release of Information

3.  CCH Affidavit    (This is needed only if you are renewing your Concealed Carry Handgun permit)